Burundi is a landlocked nation in the midst of the African Great Lakes district where East and Central Africa merge? It is circumscribed by Rwanda toward the north, Tanzania toward the east and southeast, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo toward the west; Lake Tanganyika lies along its southwestern outskirt. The capital is Gitega, having moved from Bujumbura in February 2019. The Twa, Hutu and Tutsi people groups have lived in Burundi for at any rate 500 years. For more than 200 of those years, Burundi was an autonomous kingdom, until the start of the twentieth century, when Germany colonized the district. After the First World War and Germany's annihilation, it surrendered the region to Belgium. The two Germans and Belgians ruled Burundi and Rwanda as an European settlement known as Ruanda-Urundi. Regardless of regular misguided judgments, Burundi and Rwanda had never been under basic principle until the hour of European colonization.