Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a landlocked nation in West Africa. It covers a territory of around 274,200 square kilometers (105,900 sq mi) and is encompassed by six nations: Mali toward the north; Niger toward the east; Benin toward the southeast; Togo and Ghana toward the south; and Ivory Coast toward the southwest. The July 2019 populace gauge by the United Nations was 20,321,378. Burkina Faso is a francophone nation, with French as the official language of government and business. Generally 40% of the populace communicates in the Mossi language. In the past called the Republic of Upper Volta (1958–1984), the nation was renamed "Burkina Faso" on 4 August 1984 by then-President Thomas Sankara. Its residents are known as Burkinabé